Herrin Law | Required Financial Courses for Bankruptcy
Free Attorney Consultation: Herrin Law, PLLC is a law firm in Dallas, Texas serving Dallas, Fort Worth, and surrounding counties. Founder Attorney Daniel Herrin has over 4,000 cases completed in Bankruptcy Law, Estate Planning Law, and Business Law areas. With fixed cost pricing and 24-hour guaranteed call backs, Herrin Law clients experience first class service and results. Bankruptcy is the beginning, not the end. Call today.
Bankruptcy Courses, Credit Counseling, Financial Management
17576
page,page-id-17576,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

Required Financial Courses for Bankruptcy


I’ve heard of people taking classes both before and after filing bankruptcy.  What are these classes?  Are they required in Texas?  (Pre-filing bankruptcy credit counseling and Pre-discharge debtor education)  How long do these classes take and what can I expect?

 

There are two required financial courses in Bankruptcy.  The first course is taken before you file bankruptcy and the second course is taken after you have filed the bankruptcy.

 

The First Class – Pre-Filing Bankruptcy Credit Counseling

 

This class is intended to help you prepare for bankruptcy.  It goes over several budget/finance related questions to help you gain clarity on your personal finances.  Some of the questions relate to how much you spent on your home, vehicle, food, utilities, etc.  The course is very straight forward and easy to take.  There are several online providers that you can use (see the list here).

 

How Long Does The First Class Take?

 

The class takes anywhere from 30 to 45 minutes in most cases.

 

Is the Class Required?  

 

Yes, if you do not take the pre-filing case before you file for bankruptcy then your case will be dismissed by the Court.  However, there are a few narrow exceptions for disability related issues.

 

The Second Class – Pre-Discharge Debtor Education

 

The second class is required to be taken after you have filed for bankruptcy.  You cannot take this course until you have a bankruptcy case number.  This course is designed to guide you through the post-bankruptcy process and really focuses on life after bankruptcy.  It goes into money management, using credit wisely and how you can make the most of your bankruptcy discharge.

 

How Long Does The Second Class Take?

 

The second class is a little longer takes 2-3 hours to complete.

 

Is the Second Class Required?

 

Yes.  This is mandatory and if the course is not completed you will not receive a discharge.  There are some limited exceptions but those only apply in the most rare of circumstances such as disability/incapacity.

Serving Dallas & Fort Worth Counties

Local: 469-607-8552

4925 Greenville Ave., Suite 130
Dallas, Texas 75206

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message